This is my Country Too

Okay, I’m just going to come out and say it. I can’t keep it in anymore and I feel like I should be doing something more, because my adopted country is at stake. I have been on FB since 2008 and I have tried to make my posts in keeping with the light on this planet. I have avoided politics and religion, have tried to always post things that were uplifting, interesting, informative, heart-warming, or funny. That is what I always wanted to do. This post is not meant for anyone to start arguing politics. I’m not into that. Just move on if that is your intention. In fact, I notice that people are even bickering on FB now about ingredients in recipes! Something’s got to give. The thing is that whether we speak out loud about this or we remain silent, the stress of the government changes of late is getting to most of us.

This is not about one political party or the other. This is about the direction this country is headed, and our choice about what to do about it.  I hear a lot of talk about being afraid. I refuse to give in to fear. Fear is what helpless people feel. We only succumb to fear if we allow it. We are not victims unless we allow it.

What I’m feeling is not fear. It is anger. Every day I am faced with new realities. Silencing the EPA and others, blacking out info so it can’t reach the public eye, even if we are told are “temporary measures”, is absolute bullshit. Remember when taxes were a temporary measure? Yeah, like that. Changing immigration laws so that white faces like mine can migrate to the U.S., but faces of other colors can’t? Making immigration a racial contest. Taking money away from programs that help children, the underprivileged, the disabled, the aged? Taking away safeguards so that people with pre-existing conditions may not have access to health care? Yes, let’s have a country full of people who can’t afford life-saving medications or procedures. Oh, and don’t even get me started on women’s issues, protection for our LGBT friends, family, neighbors, and co-workers. Let’s make women ashamed to report sexual assaults by questioning what sexual assault is. And let’s elect the leader of our country by choosing a man who himself admits to sexually assaulting women, and sees nothing wrong with his so-called “locker room talk”.  That makes a great role model for the boys and girls being raised her in the good ol’ USA. By all means let’s have a bunch of babies born to underprivileged women, sexually assaulted women, and give them virtually no help to raise them.

I’m feeling ashamed for our country.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to have to face future generations and tell them that I was just posting feel-good things on Facebook and not doing anything to turn this tide before we too were silenced. Some of you may be too young to know what all of this means, why we know that this is a treacherous path, and why we must do something to turn this around. I’ve seen enough damage done in the last 4 days, his first 4 days in office to last me a lifetime. I just can’t even imagine what he can do in the next 3 years and 361 days.  I hesitated to post this, thinking about my own immigration status, and that I might be black-balled by the stroke of a pen for my political views, for my audacity to practice free speech in this “free country”. But I decided that I am going to do it anyway. If I get kicked out for this, then perhaps I shouldn’t be here in the first place. I thought it was my job to be part of government, part of what makes this place great, part of holding the hand next to mine, together making the USA what it really stands for.

I’m not politically astute. I’ll be the first to admit that. But I do know human decency, kindness, and the spirit of working together for the greater good. I don’t understand the spirit of working together to tread upon those beneath us on our way to the top. I don’t understand vilification, ignorance, sexism, racism, greed, and mean-spiritedness. America already is great. Let’s keep it that way.

What can we do to help turn things around? I’m opening this up because I need some concrete things I can do, and if you’re like me, maybe you do too. I don’t want to wait until we have no more national forests for future families to play in, I don’t want to wait until our every word is censored. So I hope someone out there has some constructive ideas they can share. If you are only going to post ugliness, don’t bother. It will be promptly deleted. If you just want to talk about what’s in your heart, or share ideas about how we can make a difference, please talk.

About Ruth Knox

Freelance writer, published in the Canadian and U.S. market. Magazine articles, newspaper columns, guest columns, the arts community, poetry in literary venues, essays in anthologies, published in 4 Chicken Soup for the Soul books, cover story about The Treasure Valley Roller Girls in Idaho Magazine. Now in the editing stage of my non-fiction book for family caregivers, Caregiver's Quilt, a book of companionship, inspiration, laughter, and resources, encouraging caregivers to take good care of themselves too. Now living in Boise ID presently freelancing while working on my book. Member of Idaho Writers' Guild, The Cabin,and National Federation of Press Women. Interests which I like to write about include living a fabulous mid-life, spiritual growth, the writing journey, living joyfully, and finding meaningful connection.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This is my Country Too

  1. Rl henderson says:

    Very well written and said. Thank you I respect your honest and true feelings!!! As I respect my own.
    TY
    Randy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don Thompson says:

    I am looking to join a grow to protest and stop building of Mexico border wall. My to focus my efforts there. Does anyone have contact info on a credible organization I can research and potentially join. Ashamed that my country would do such disrespectful thing towards our southern neighbors. I’m embarassed and retired and have time to invest in this.

    Like

  3. Truly well said and well written. I have been visiting Alicia since early December and will be here for another few months. I am totally shocked by Trump and those who support him. In less than 2 weeks he has turned the country upside down. I am glad I still live in Canada at this point. I am sure that Canadians are participating in the fight against Trump and I will be one also!
    Good luck America, you’re going to need it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

