Is There Anybody Out There?

I read a quotation on Facebook that said “It is better to try something and fail, than not to try at all.”  That is badly paraphrased and worse yet, I don’t know who said it.  But the point is that we should at least give it a try, whatever “it” is for each of us.  I started this blog on writing and life got in the way.  Responses were few.  I didn’t spread the word about my blog, and I let it dwindle off into obscurity.  Well, more obscurity, because it was already obscure.  Okay, being a writer means being precise, so, yeah, I stopped blogging. It felt like I was talking to myself, and quite frankly, that was not my intention.  I wanted a dialogue with others, and that didn’t happen much, so I tried and failed.  Yaay me!

Today I picked up this blog again because I still think it’s important that writers write, and that they connect with each other, and with readers.  Communication is important.  If you are reading this blog, then maybe you’ll be patient with me while I find my way, figure out what I am doing here and what I have to offer.   Maybe you won’t be patient with me, and you’ll choose to leave.  If you do, then maybe someone else will come along and choose to stay.  I may be stumbling my way through as I figure out exactly what this blog is going to have to say, but I know that it’s important that we talk, that we open up to one another, and that we share.  That’s all writing has ever been – sharing, sharing words and ideas and feelings.  And I happen to think that this sharing is the most important thing on earth.  We all have different ways of doing it.  In this blog, I will do it by writing.

If you too are a writer and are struggling to find your niche, to believe in your own voice, to have faith in your ability, to know deep in yourself that you have something valuable to offer, then I hope you stay.  I think I need you, and you need me.  And I think we can work some magic.  Maybe we can help each other fail less, and publish more.  Maybe we can procrastinate less, and publish more.  Maybe we can write more, and publish more.  The key, I think, isn’t so much in a lack of discipline.  I think it has more to do with our inability to believe in our own unique voice, to believe in it enough to put it out there, over and over again.  We have to believe in it enough that we can work in the solitary world of our computer, in a quiet room, with no one cheering us on.

About Ruth Knox

Freelance writer, published in the Canadian and U.S. market. Magazine articles, newspaper columns, guest columns, the arts community, poetry in literary venues, essays in anthologies, published in 4 Chicken Soup for the Soul books, cover story about The Treasure Valley Roller Girls in Idaho Magazine. Now in the editing stage of my non-fiction book for family caregivers, Caregiver's Quilt, a book of companionship, inspiration, laughter, and resources, encouraging caregivers to take good care of themselves too. Now living in Boise ID presently freelancing while working on my book. Member of Idaho Writers' Guild, The Cabin,and National Federation of Press Women. Interests which I like to write about include living a fabulous mid-life, spiritual growth, the writing journey, living joyfully, and finding meaningful connection.
This entry was posted in writing and life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is There Anybody Out There?

  1. Well, I am. Or a writer but I am definitely an “audience” so the next time you are felling like you are writing to your self you remind yourself that at the very least, I will take the time to read your blog. So “Hooray”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Richard Knox Muse says:

    My darling,

    I know you have recently demonstrated a profound voice in several publications. One of which is top secret until the next issue of Idaho Magazine.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lorna says:

    Yes, this was written a few years ago but I must reply. The special thing about words is that they stay in place for others to read until they are removed. They don’t wither with time. If the words are about a ‘thing’ that becomes obsolete, like the reel to reel tape recorders we knew in school, the words become a school themselves introducing the reader to a place in the past they may never have visited otherwise. But the words do not wither unless they are removed.

    I’m seeing this for the first time today, over 3 years after it was written. It made me think of the times as a kid when my mother would tell me that you wrote to grandpa, hoping it would encourage me to do the same. It reminded me of the times Mom had one of her writings printed in a magazine or newspaper and the pride she felt in that accomplishment having but a grade 7 education. You never know what feelings you’re going to stir in your readers. Write, for you, for your readers and for the future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

