Oh Happy Day!

I haven’t been blogging here much lately it seems. I’ve been getting down and dirty with my freelancing of articles, essays, poetry, and working on my novel. However, I am not pleased with my blog-neglect so we’ll have to straighten that out.

The other day I came home to an email and a contract from an editor who wants to buy an essay I wrote on the subject of grief and recovery. It won’t be published til February but its a cheque in the bank and a byline in a very well read book series, so that will be nice. And of course, the hope that the editor will buy more of my work in the months and years to come.

The best part about this was that I had forgotten that I had even submitted this particular piece for publication, so it was an unexpected surprise. Age-related memory loss has its benefits….. ;P Anyway, after I did my happy dance, re-read my essay to see if I liked it (I did), I settled in to check over the contract (it was pretty standard), signed it, and went to the post office to mail it to the editor. Sweet. I could stand a few more days like that.

About Ruth Knox

Freelance writer, published in the Canadian and U.S. market. Magazine articles, newspaper columns, guest columns, the arts community, poetry in literary venues, essays in anthologies, published in 4 Chicken Soup for the Soul books, cover story about The Treasure Valley Roller Girls in Idaho Magazine. Now in the editing stage of my non-fiction book for family caregivers, Caregiver's Quilt, a book of companionship, inspiration, laughter, and resources, encouraging caregivers to take good care of themselves too. Now living in Boise ID presently freelancing while working on my book. Member of Idaho Writers' Guild, The Cabin,and National Federation of Press Women. Interests which I like to write about include living a fabulous mid-life, spiritual growth, the writing journey, living joyfully, and finding meaningful connection.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh Happy Day!

  1. Betsy Hall says:

    Fabulous, Ruth! Let us know when it comes out!
    Betsy

    Like

  2. Sherri Fujimagari says:

    Great blog, darlin’, and what a wonderful reward for ‘keeping on keeping on’. I am very happy for you – one step closer to the top of the mountain. Actually, I think you are AT the top of the mountain already, aren’t you? Love ya.

    Like

  3. johnfuji says:

    …And the money just keeps rolling in. Way to go Ruth!

    Like

Leave a Reply

