Internet Cafe Magic

I have taken to sometimes gathering up my netbook in my backpack and heading out for an internet cafe rather than work at my home office.  I never thought that would be something I would like to do.  However, desperate times call for desperate measures!

Somedays I can work happily at home for hours and confine my activities to what I want to accomplish with my writing.  Other days, like today, my self discipline is at a low ebb and I need some outside help, some ambiance, some company….  I don’t like the shoulder to shoulder internet cafes with laptops and netbooks lined up just an elbow’s width apart, where the buzz is deafening.  I am repulsed by the type of place that is considered  “in” and everyone wants to be there just to be seen. 

I like a quiet, out of the way coffee shop, with audible but not overwhelming music, preferably a coffee shop/book store where people are browsing the magazine racks, and its not too crowded.  I don’t like tiny places so small that I am inundated by people whose butts graze perilously close to my computer screen as they try to get standing room at the counter, and the din of shouting barristas and espresso machines hiss at dizzying decabells.

So I have been out and about today, first enjoying the outdoors,  getting my dose of nature as well as early morning exercise.  Next I found myself taking in the Eagle Fun Days on foot, delighting in the anticipation of locals whose children are giddy with excitement at being in the parade.  The carnival atmosphere drew me in,  with hawkers and street vendors, the antique car show…  I found myself  just inhaling the panorama of sights and sounds of this small town-come-city and its growing pains.  And now I’ve taken residence at one of my favorite haunts to write.  It’s been a perfect day so far, all of the elements I love so much, and perfect weather too.  The skies are a pristine blue, not a cloud on the horizon, not even over the mountains.  It is pleasantly warm and balmy, with a soft breeze that tickles the trees into waving their branches and dancing languidly in the afternoon sun. 

Some days are too perfect to capture in words.

About Ruth Knox

Freelance writer, published in the Canadian and U.S. market. Magazine articles, newspaper columns, guest columns, the arts community, poetry in literary venues, essays in anthologies, published in 4 Chicken Soup for the Soul books, cover story about The Treasure Valley Roller Girls in Idaho Magazine. Now in the editing stage of my non-fiction book for family caregivers, Caregiver's Quilt, a book of companionship, inspiration, laughter, and resources, encouraging caregivers to take good care of themselves too. Now living in Boise ID presently freelancing while working on my book. Member of Idaho Writers' Guild, The Cabin,and National Federation of Press Women. Interests which I like to write about include living a fabulous mid-life, spiritual growth, the writing journey, living joyfully, and finding meaningful connection.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Internet Cafe Magic

  1. johnfuji says:

    Everyone needs days that feed the soul. Enjoy life!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

