Can Joy Rob You of Sleep?

It’s 5 a.m.  I want to sleep, I really do.  Instead I’m here on my computer, been here since 3 a.m. writing.  Why I can’t just confine my writing hours to daylight is beyond me.  I’ll be lying in bed and an idea will hit, and there is nothing to do but get up and explore it.  That’s because there is no going back to sleep until I do.  It’s crazy I know.  I’ve always been like this.  Even when I had a demanding, full time job, I’d do nutty things like this and then drag my ass around the whole next day from sleep deprivation….. sometimes I think that I am the most frustrating thing about my life!

This morning I have tai chi classes in the Botanical Gardens.  I love that place so much and wonder how I managed to live without a membership until this year.  I had a favorite park in Toronto Canada where I lived in my previous life, called Edwards Gardens.  It was actually part of a whole parks system and I could walk there for hours, or even hike up in the hills when I felt like it.  I don’t miss much about Toronto but I do miss my beloved Edwards Gardens.  When I am in the Botanical Gardens, though it looks nothing like it, I am reminded of the “feel” of my beloved E.G.  It’s just magic!  When I go today I am taking my netbook with me so I can do some writing before or after my tai chi classes.  That way maybe I can capture some of the magic in words to share with someone.

Today is our one year wedding anniversary.  I just can’t believe that a whole year has come and gone.  In some ways it feels like I’ve been here in Idaho forever, and in other ways, like I’ve just arrived.  In fact, I’ve been here one year, 3 months and 4 days, but who’s counting?  As crazy as everyone thought I was at the time (and perhaps I was) it was the most daring and best move I ever made.  I have never regretted a minute of it, and the joy I share with Richard, well, it is still unspeakable. 

Since I have to get up in an hour and a half, I am going to make another attempt at sleep.  Thanks for keeping me company.

About Ruth Knox

Freelance writer, published in the Canadian and U.S. market. Magazine articles, newspaper columns, guest columns, the arts community, poetry in literary venues, essays in anthologies, published in 4 Chicken Soup for the Soul books, cover story about The Treasure Valley Roller Girls in Idaho Magazine. Now in the editing stage of my non-fiction book for family caregivers, Caregiver's Quilt, a book of companionship, inspiration, laughter, and resources, encouraging caregivers to take good care of themselves too. Now living in Boise ID presently freelancing while working on my book. Member of Idaho Writers' Guild, The Cabin,and National Federation of Press Women. Interests which I like to write about include living a fabulous mid-life, spiritual growth, the writing journey, living joyfully, and finding meaningful connection.
This entry was posted in writing and life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Can Joy Rob You of Sleep?

  1. Marian says:

    Great reading Ruth!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Betsy and Kirk Hall says:

    One year!! Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. johnfuji says:

    Great Post Ruth. I usually sleep quite well but if there is something I’m looking forward to, I can be like a little kid. Anticipation can keep me from going to sleep or get me up in the middle of the night or early in the morning.
    Congratulations on your Anniversary!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Darlene says:

    Wonderful post, Ruth. My problem is the opposite. I like to write at night. Don’t know why but that’s when thoughts start rolling and as you said they will not be ignored. By the time I leave my computer my mind is alive, energy is high, and my need for sleep is imminent but illusive.

    Happy anniversary to you both.

    Love is like one long sweet dream.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sara says:

    I think maybe it’s genetic. I find myself up at night doing things I suddenly feel are the most important in the whole world. All I know is that in our family, the more daring the adventures we seem to take, the more wonderful things seem to come from them.
    I love you Grandma, enjoy your special day.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Richard Knox says:

    You are my dream come true.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

